Who made up the rule that we have to work 9-to-5 and only have weekends off?

I don’t know about you but I’m not a morning person, so I prefer get to work at 10am AND miss peak-hour traffic. In fact, I’d much rather spend half a day in the office, go home, hang out with my husband and the dogs and then start working again at 8pm until midnight. That’s my productivity pattern.

Unless your work is time specific, do companies really need to be so rigid?

As a Manager I believe in output, not hours. If you’ve done your work and it’s 4pm, why not go home? And if the project you’re working on needs to be finished and it takes you until 8pm, that’s OK too.

Think about it:

  • Employees would be happier and more productive working the hours that suited their body clock.
  • We could stager travel so peak-hour wouldn’t be so time-wasting and agonizing.

Take action:

  • Ask your employer if they will consider flexible work hours to heighten productivity and team member retention.
